Conservation Awards Committee

Committee Members: R. T. Bowyer, J. A. Cook (Chair), J. Esselstyn, J. Goheen, K. M. Helgen, T. Jung, N. Ordóñez-Garza, K. D. Stone, S. Wisely.

Mission:

This Committee administers two awards, the Aldo Leopold Conservation Award and the William T. Hornaday Award. These awards were established by the ASM Board of Directors in 2002. The Aldo Leopold Award was created to recognize a well-established individual who has made a lasting scientific contribution to the conservation of mammals and their habitats. The William T. Hornaday Award was created to recognize a current graduate or undergraduate student who has made a significant contribution as a student to the conservation of mammals and their habitats.

Information Items:

(1) The Conservation Awards Committee solicits nominations for the Leopold Conservation Award and the Hornaday Student Conservation Award. This year there were three complete nominations submitted for the Hornaday Award and three complete nominations submitted for the Leopold Award. Each nomination was evaluated by the Committee. One Hornaday Award and one Leopold Award were unanimously supported and forwarded to the ASM Board of Directors for their consideration. The Leopold and Hornaday Awards will be presented at the banquet at the 2013 Annual Meeting in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

Action Items:

(1) Budget request of \$1800 for the Leopold Award (\$300 for the plaque and \$1500 for travel costs) and \$1700 for the Hornaday Award (plaque [\$200] and travel costs [\$1500]) to bring awardees to the Annual Meeting in Florida next year.

Respectfully submitted, Joseph A. Cook, Chair (tucojoe@gmail.com)